[full of it]

Ocella

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on November 4, 2008

So today I re-visited the idea of switching to the generic form of my birth control, Yasmin.  Ocella, the generic, became available in July, and they automatically re-filled me for the generic (with no consultation–thanks CVS).  Fortunately, John (who picked up the prescription) noticed, and took it back in for them to switch to the brand-name.  At the time, since it was brand-new, I couldn’t ask people about their experience switching, and I’m always skeptical of messing with something like birth control, even if it is theoretically the same drug.  Now, a few months later, we’re switching my health insurance and are looking at paying $40 a month for the brand name, so I decided it was time to look again at Ocella and see what people think about it.

Wow.  Women are not happy with it.  I stumbled across this topix forum about women who have made the switch.  It seems like extreme mood swings are the most overwhelming issue with it, along with weight gain and GI issues.  Most of them say that their doctors and pharmacists told them that the generic is exactly the same, but I think it’s fair to say that something is different here.  I don’t think all of these women are having the same psychosomatic issues.

If generics are supposed to be bioequivalent, have the same MOA, dosage, active ingredient, and serum concentration-time profile, why all these problems?  Something is different.  It kind of makes me worry that generics get to skip the “let’s see if it’s safe” part of the process.  But I guess that’s the point of a generic, that’s why it can be so cheap.  

On a different medical note, I just talked to my mom who just got back from a lactation conference in Tucson (or Tulsa?), and she of course had to share some of the things that she learned.  We all know that women are better multi-taskers than men.  In high school I remember learning that it has something to do with the corpus callosum, but apparently childbirth and breastfeeding also have neural effects that enable a woman to do a million things at once.  It has something to do with the oxytocin levels in the woman’s brain during natural childbirth, and then the peaks of oxytocin that occur during breastfeeding–it actually sparks the creation of more neural pathways in the brain.  Nuts, right?  I haven’t seen the study or anything, so I don’t know exactly how they went about figuring this out, but still pretty amazing.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anne booth said, on November 10, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    so cool! It does seem that women should get a little break somewhere after all those months of pregnancy! One if the nurses at Texas childrens keeps telling me that being pregnant is making her stupid and forgetful, and that her doctor told her it was the baby using up all of her omega 3 fatty acids! So maybe after thy baby comes you get doubly smart!!

  2. anne booth said, on November 10, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    thy baby… hehehe… whoops.

  3. Kate Meredith said, on February 10, 2010 at 11:41 am

    I know this post is a bit older but I stumbled across it and love your take on it. It’s great to see some women doing the research on these drugs. I am the Community Host of a brand new resource for women who are suffering from serious side effects associated with Yaz, Yasmin and Ocella and would love to hear your take on what you think is lacking from the site. http://www.yaztalk.com Also – what birth control did you end up taking? Curious.


Leave a Reply

