[full of it]

reading is fun!

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on November 20, 2008

let’s talk about books! here are some things i’ve read recently:

What Is the What: So good!  It took me a few chapters to get into it…but once it really started getting into the conflict in Sudan and all of Valentino’s experiences, I really started loving it.  Most of the time I had to tell myself it was fiction so I wouldn’t get too worked up over it, but I really liked learning more about what’s actually going on over there.  You know, you hear everyone saying, “Save Darfur!” but I never really knew what it was all about.  This book isn’t about Darfur specifically, but all of Sudan is tied up in this conflict.  It’s sad, enlightening.  I love Dave Eggers, so I think I set myself up to like it, but it didn’t disappoint.

One Hundred Years of Solitude: I wanted to like it so bad.  I know it’s a classic and I know that Gabriel Garcia Marquez is a great author, but I really didn’t enjoy reading it.  It was so dense, so impossible to keep the timeline straight, such weird fantastic elements…maybe those are the things that make it great, but I was reading it just to get through it, just to finish it.  The way that it ended almost made up for the rest, but not quite.  I wouldn’t read it again.

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn: I wish I’d read this when I was 15!  I think this is one of those books I could read once a year and get something different out of it each time.  Loved it.  I’d recommend this to anyone.

Jitterbug Perfume: Exactly what I’ve come to expect from Tom Robbins.  It involved cheating death, a hive of bees, a Jamaican named Bingo Pajama, perfume (duh), and a German who dances to avoid aging.  What more could a girl ask for.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time: Really good, really quick read.  It’s from the point of view of a fifteen-year-old autistic boy who processes everything completely literally.  Facial expressions and sayings don’t mean anything to him.  I’m glad it was so short…I liked it a lot, but I couldn’t read it for long periods of time because the language was so…literal.

Ok, John is home and I’m hungry.  Peace out.

Leave a Reply

