[full of it]

Christmas??

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on December 10, 2008

Calendars are lying to me.  There is absolutely no way that it is almost Christmas.  Christmas means it’s almost 2009, and that can’t possibly be correct.  I haven’t really felt Christmas-y yet.  I mean, we’ve all but finished our shopping, and we have a tree (albeit a half-decorated tree), we have an advent calendar, and I’m working seasonal holiday sales at a retail store that’s all decorated with paper chains and Christmas trees, but it doesn’t feel the same.  It might be the weather; it can get pretty cold at times, but you’re never freezing.  You’d think I’d be used to mild winters.  I think it’s mostly that Thanksgiving was untraditional and pretty much passed unnoticed by me in my sickness, and also that we’re not planning on how to make time for three families on Christmas day.  There’s normally an anticipation and, I’m not gonna lie, some anxiety surrounding Christmas eve and day.  Who are we visiting and when, where are we sleeping, are we going to spend enough time with this family or that, etc.  It makes me want to plan something, even though it will be just the two of us.  Maybe this is how traditions get started.  We could make cookies on Christmas Eve, we could watch A Christmas Story, we could play Clue.  There are no rules this year, no commitments!  

I’ve been thinking that I need to get to wrapping all the presents we have, but I’m thinking that maybe I’ll just take some boxes and ribbon from work…is that being too lazy?  It’s not that I don’t want to wrap, I actually like wrapping, it’s that I don’t want to take the train to the store.  Yeah, I think it’s safe to say that that’s being too lazy.  

Oh, here’s the other thing about time flying by: I have to take the CSET in January!!  January 10th!!  I’ve barely made a dent in studying.  Like, I’ve done almost nothing.  I’d be more motivated if this were my only chance to take it, but I’ll have two more chances if I don’t pass one of the sections.  I think I should be okay on the biology section; it’s the random stuff that I haven’t seen since 7th grade that I’m having to relearn.  Like the rock cycle.  It’s not difficult, it’s just making sure that I’ve re-familiarized myself with all of that stuff.  Astronomy, oceanography, geology…not a clue.  Ack.  OH AND if/when we move back to TX, I’ll have to take the TX equivalent of this test.  Boo.  OH AND you’d think there would be an overwhelming number of cafes with wi-fi here.  You’d be very, very wrong.  I have to do my studying on the kitchen table, and I’m not a fan of that at all.  

On that note, I’m going to get to it.  Maybe I’ll actually be prepared for this mess.

Leave a Reply

