[full of it]

Home alone

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on December 18, 2008

So, John’s at work right now, and he’s going straight from work to the airport and heading off to Houston.  His brother is graduating (he’s not actually going to get to go to the ceremony, but he gets to celebrate with everyone) and his sister just finished up her masters degree last week (if either of you read this, congratulations and I miss you!).  It’s going to be a quick trip…he’s getting in late tonight (Thursday) and getting back to SF late Saturday.  Just enough time to catch up with the fam.  I’m pretty bummed that I’m not going, but at the same time I think I’d just be super stressed if I went because I’d be trying to see my family as well and feeling guilty if I didn’t get to see them (even though my dad and co. will be here right after Christmas and we just saw Mom and Claire over Thanksgiving).  I’m also bummed that I have to spend three days husbandless.  I’m sure we’ll end up talking several times a day, but any time he’s not here for a night I end up avoiding going to bed.  I’ll stay out on the couch and watch a movie or something, thinking I should go to bed but really not wanting to, so I end up falling asleep on the couch, then waking up and stumbling to bed half asleep.  I think today I’m going to go to the grocery store (my first time going to the real store by myself!), and maybe I’ll make cookies or something to fill the time.

Last night we were such  big kids!  John worked from home all day, but we still had some gifts we needed to get, so when he finished up we headed downtown (5:30-ish).  He’s taking all of his family’s gifts home with him, so we really needed to get them that night.  Also, John hadn’t bought new clothes in about a year (I actually don’t think that that’s an exaggeration), and we had this little J.Crew card that gave us $25 off a $125 purchase.  Well, turns out pretty much the entire store is on sale right now.  He found a pair of jeans, a pair of cords, a really awesome cotton/cashmere sweater, and a sueded half-zip sweater.  Then I saw these really cute lambswool slippers and John convinced me to get them.  All in all, with the sales and our little card, we saved $98 (I think she might have given us more of a discount on the cords than she was supposed to, but who’s complaining).  I got probably a little too excited about that.  Hurray for new clothes!  Then we went to a couple more stores to get the gifts, then we ate at the food court in the Westfield Center.  By FAR the most expensive food court meal we’ve ever had, but it was like an actual restaurant and it was delicious.  Good night.

Well, I should actually start my day.  TTFN!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JB said, on December 19, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I adore you and miss you mucho. You are definitely right about talking several times a day. I’ll call you when I get to Houston. Love!

  2. anne said, on December 19, 2008 at 1:47 am

    Susie, I do the exact same thing when ryan is out of town… its amazing how fast you can get used to having someone sleeping next to you… it feels empty when they aren’t there. Love you and we’ll miss you lots this weekend. Ryan and I are hoping to plan a SF trip soon to see you and your city! Love, AB


Leave a Reply

