[full of it]

2008

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on January 1, 2009

A year in review.  Here is 2007.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? Had a full-time job, moved across the country, lived without a car.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I don’t think I made one last year.  I don’t think I will this year, either.  No resolutions, just goals, like passing the CSET so I can teach.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?  Brian and Mary had Dylan!  That was last January, so he’s about to have his first birthday!

4. Did anyone close to you die?  No, no one close to me.

5. What countries did you visit?  None.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?  Gosh…I don’t really know.  It’s hard to answer when you don’t really feel like you’re lacking anything! 

7. What date(s) from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? September 1-3, June 30.  

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?  Getting to San Francisco without killing ourselves or each other, moving here in general.  Everything from making the decision to finding an apartment to hauling all of our stuff up to our new apartment.

9. What was your biggest failure? i don’t think i’ve done much failing this year, and it’s hard to anyway when you’ve got someone keeping your eyes open and your heart warm.  (Same answer from 2007)

10. Did you suffer any illness or injury? I broke my foot while I was sleeping.  I got a killer UTI the same weekend John was in the ER for esophagitis.  I had some kind of stomach flu over Thanksgiving.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Our big ol’ TV, our new couch, our first Christmas tree, our iPhones, which I don’t think I could live without at this point.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?  Dylan, by being born, and Mary, for delivering him and then getting well.  John’s, for getting promoted in March.  Barack Obama’s! 

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?  The voters of California, the Mormon church, for propagating intolerance and limiting civil rights.  Dick Cheney, for insisting that history will see their administration in a positive light. 

14. Where did most of your money go? Rent, moving.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? What didn’t I get excited about??!  Moving, being married to an awesome dude, being an aunt for the very first time!  So much!

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?  “Get Better” by Mates of State.  

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder?  I just keep getting happier, don’t I.
ii. thinner or fatter?  The same-ish.  Maybe slightly fatter, but I spontaneously lost a bunch of weight around this time last year, so I think I’m just normal.
iii. richer or poorer?  Poorer.  Thanks San Francisco, most expensive city ever.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?  Yoga, reading, writing, record shopping and listening.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?  Foolin’ ’round on the internet.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?  I spent Christmas in my little apartment with my husband and little dog.  We made a gingerbread house and watched Polar Express.

22. Did you fall in love in 2008? yes, every single day. (same from 2007)

23. How many one-night stands? zero. (same)

24. What was your favorite TV program? The Office.  Right now we’re watching the British version that Mom gave us for Christmas.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Nah.

26. What was the best book you read?  Atlas Shrugged, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, What is the What.  If I had to pick one, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?  Mates of State!   

28. What did you want and get?  A successful move to a new city, another year of wedded bliss, a job in Austin and a job in SF (finally), lotsa love.

29. What did you want and not get?  Nothing.  (My answer last year was ‘maybe an iPhone or a new TV’ and I got both of those this year!) 

30. What was your favorite film of this year?  Was King of Kong this year?  Iron Man was good, Son of Rambow, Forgetting Sarah Marshall.  Milk came out this year, and I still really, really want to see it.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?  I think we went to Benihana; I turned 23.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Eesh, maybe hiring professional movers and flying ourselves out here.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008? Pretty much the same as it’s always been, although I’ve had the opportunity to buy some more clothes working at Anthropologie.  I cut my hair short, bob with bangs.  Solids, dark jeans, flats.

34. What kept you sane?  Husband, writing…although it’s been almost exclusively in blog form.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?  I got a lot of crap for saying something about Daniel Craig being a good-looking Bond, so I guess I might as well go with that.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?  The presidential election was this year, and we got pretty worked up over that.  We also moved to California just in time for Prop 8 to be up, which of course caused a huge stir. 

37. Who did you miss?  Absolutely everyone.  Mom.

38. Who was the best new person you met?  The gang at WF, Kelley and Faith.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008: being in love is easier than you want to make it. (same)

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

Birds singing a song,
old paint is peeling,
this is that fresh
that fresh feeling.
Words can’t be that strong,
my heart is reeling,
this is that fresh,
that fresh feeling.

Try, try to forget,
what’s in the past,
tomorrow is here.

Love, orange sky above,
lighting your way,
there’s nothing to fear.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 2009 Survey « [full of it] said, on January 3, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    […] 2009 Survey Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on January 3, 2010 Here is 2007 and 2008. […]


Leave a Reply

