[full of it]

yay!

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on February 5, 2009

i’m so excited!  my sister-in-law extraordinaire sent me the most awesome knitting care-package EVER!  anne has knitted some seriously adorable things, she’s the perfect person to introduce me to all of this.  i don’t know what exactly is so appealing about knitting to me…i think i’ve always had a creative itch, a desire to be artistic without the talent to match.  i can’t draw or paint or sew, but i feel like knitting may be right up my alley.  i’m patient, i can pick stuff up pretty quickly.  OR maybe it’s so appealing because it reminds me of all those bracelets i used to make when i was a kid.  my friend rachel and i used to go to michael’s or hobby lobby, load up on embroidery thread, and spend entire afternoons making little anklets.  i made one for myself and one for john recently…mine is still holding strong but john’s fell off after like three days.  so, yesterday i got the lovely little card in my mailbox telling me i had a package in the office and i immediately went to pick it up.  but the office was closed!!  arrrg!  they had a sign up that they would be back in a few minutes, so i went upstairs and made myself busy by cleaning the kitchen, then went back down to the office.  they found the package for me and i practically ran upstairs to dig into it.  anne had put in a really neat how-to book, and i started reading right away.  today i woke up and started actually trying to learn.  i have to say, i was surprised by how easy most of it was once i got the hang of it.  i ended up, just by messing around, making something approximately the size of a bookmark.  it of course looked pretty ridiculous and it’s going to take a lot more practice to get consistent, but yay me anyway!  

man, i have an awesome family.  i mean, my mom is my best friend, my dad is super supportive and has gotten to be downright fun in my adulthood, my siblings are the jam, and now i have a whole new set of family with my in-laws!  it really feels like that, too, it’s not like they’re just john’s family.  it seems like everyone has horror stories of their in-laws coming to visit, not getting along, but i have none of that.  i have the opposite of that.  i have sooo much fun hanging out with john’s siblings and their spouses, his parents are amazing…we have such a huge support system.  it’s just awesome.  

……..

aw, claire just called me to tell me she got into texas state.  what?  my baby sister is going to college?  oh man.  time is flying.  anyway, i’m super proud of her.  is she really 18?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Judi K said, on February 5, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    And don’t forget you have a whole other set of friends out there now. I love your blog Suzi and suggest you start knitting scarves. They are quick and fun to give away. love you, j

  2. Anne said, on February 5, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    yay yay yay! So glad you got it! You’ll have to post pics of your fabulous creations! Can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

