[full of it]

triumph!

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on June 10, 2009

i’ve been gone!  but i’m back!

to finish up on all that birthday stuff: john took me to get sushi at ebisu, which is still under renovation, so we went across the street to hotei, which is its sister restaurant.  and it was awesome.  we had some of the best fried calamari i’ve ever had.  oh, i heart calamari.  mmm.

ok, other things.  i’ve been gone because i got sick again!  blarg!  some really awful sinus crap that completely knocked me on my ass.  it really caught up with me at work on tuesday night, and i spent wednesday on the couch with a fever and a clogged up head.  i had to reschedule the placement meeting that i had for thursday morning, but did manage to do my closing shift thursday night.  it’s pretty much gone now.  in fact, i think today is the first day that both sides of my nose have been completely clear.

sooo.  saturday i worked, but afterwards, we went and saw UP in 3D.  SOAWESOME.  loved it.  go see it.  do it now. 1, 2, 3, do it.  say yes.  say yes now.  3, 2, 1, yes, say you will, say you will, say yes.  good.

then SUNDAY we went to the UNION STREET FESTIVAL, which was pretty neat.  we bought some sheets and ate a mountain of fried seafood and garlic fries.  oh, and funnel cake.  DUH.  we got a little sunburned!!  i took off my cardigan and wore just a tank top!  folks were wearing shorts!  so they have these little beer gardens along the street, so they can contain the booze consumption and all that, and john got us each a large beer (they don’t mess around…it was really large), and i’m not ashamed to admit that that one beer got me a little drunk.  and then just really sleepy.  john too, apparently, because he fell asleep on the couch when we got home (yes you did).

yesterday was my rescheduled placement meeting to find a school for my student teaching in the fall.  i’m now scrambling to find time to meet with the school’s principal before everyone takes off for summer, because tomorrow is my only day off from work this week.  i guess a group of students placed at that school went today to meet him, but it was way too last-minute for me to make that happen.  i understand that they’re trying to place 140 people in schools around the bay area, but it’s been really difficult to get this whole process going.  i really wish i’d been well enough to go to my earlier placement meeting, because now i have to get up early, call the guy, see if i can come in sometime same-day.  and since it’s my only day off, i have about ten other things i’d like to get done as well.  grocery store, haircut, laundry, tailor, cleaning…realistically just the laundry and cleaning are going to get done.  we’re going to have to scrounge and live off of whatever we have in the fridge until sunday. boo.

well, as far as work goes, I’M ACTUALLY WORKING!  i’m on the schedule for 35.5 hours this week!!!!  have i mentioned how much i love katy, the manager who’s now doing the schedule?  LOVE.  so far three of those hours have been cut (two for having to go to that meeting, one today because it was super slow), and i’m still getting a ton of hours.  i spoke to her briefly about it, she asked if i wanted that many hours all the time, i said YESPLEASEFORTHELOVEOFGOD, and she said she’s going to “max me out.”  oh, be still heart.  i know.  the managers at work really dig me, i believe for two main reasons:  1) i’m not an idiot, and 2) i don’t call in sick all the time.  sure-fire retail success!

ok, well j had to work super late tonight and i’m going to get a head start on dinner.  adios amigos.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Judi K said, on June 11, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Hi there! After suffering through countless sinus infections I finally purchased a nettie pot. Really helped!!

    Any school that lands you is blessed! You will be an awesome teacher.

    Love you Judi

  2. French Friend for Life said, on June 12, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I’m glad you liked the gifts…I don’t really think you’re a douchelord but Dale and I call each other that from time to time. I thought you would appreciate the humor. I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO excited about Labor Day. I talk about it every other day to Dale. I think he’ll be ready for it to be here and gone 🙂

    I’m glad you had a nice birthday, and I can’t believe you’ve been married for 2 years. That is awesome! Enjoy your anniversary. Miss you, and I’ll give you a call soon (maybe on Sunday). Love you!

  3. French Friend for Life said, on June 12, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    BTW, I AM going to cut off my hair and embrace the curl after the wedding. I’m also going to dye it chocolate brown. I’ve been debating it forever, but Dale said I’m doing it after the wedding…I mean…why not?

    Thought you should know.


Leave a Reply

