[full of it]

2009 Survey

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on January 3, 2010

Here is 2007 and 2008.

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before? Had surgery.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Didn’t make any last year, won’t this year.  Plans, no resolutions.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?  Mary and Brian had lil’ (shouldn’t it technically be li’l’?) baby Reese!

4. Did anyone close to you die?  Michael Jackson.  Brittany Murphy.  Oh, did you say close to me?

5. What countries did you visit?  None.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?  Oh, there’s one thing I can think of.

7. What date(s) from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?  I got nothing here.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?  Hm.  I got promoted. I didn’t have a complete emotional breakdown over this RA business. Just a little one.

9. What was your biggest failure? i don’t think i’ve done much failing this year, and it’s hard to anyway when you’ve got someone keeping your eyes open and your heart warm.  (Same answer from 2007 and 2008)

10. Did you suffer any illness or injury? I’ve had more doctors appointments in the past six months than in the last five years combined.  Had elbow surgery, got a tentative RA diagnosis and started medication for it (that has yet to start working).

11. What was the best thing you bought?  I was pretty proud of John’s Christmas present.  I bought a lot of clothes.  A lot.  My favorite is maybe the denim Leifsdottir skirt.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?  Both mine and John’s, I suppose, since we both got promoted.  Rachel and Dale got married, which definitely merited celebration.  Claire graduated high school and started at Soka.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?  No one close to me.  I don’t know, really.  The moments I spent being appalled and depressed were usually not caused by anyone’s behavior.

14. Where did most of your money go? RENT.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Being married to an awesome dude.  Reese.  Other things.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?   “Will You Return” Avett Brothers

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder?  Maybe sadder.  No.  More stressed?
ii. thinner or fatter?  John says thinner, I say same.
iii. richer or poorer?  Richer, thanks to me now having a (full-time) job and John getting promoted.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?  City things.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?  Going to doctors.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?  We went home for a quick trip, got to see everyone.  It was delightful.  And really short.

22. Did you fall in love in 2008? Every dang day.

23. How many one-night stands? Every dang day.  No just kidding, zero.

24. What was your favorite TV program? Right now, West Wing.  We also watched all of the Wire, which was bad ass.  Also Californication, Glee, and the Office.  Also Parks and Recreation.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Nah.

26. What was the best book you read?  The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle (Haruki Murakami).  Now that I think about it, I can’t remember anything that I just loved.  I went back and read some things I should have read in high school.  Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Through the Looking Glass, Call of the Wild, 1984.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?  Avett Brothers?  Fleet Foxes?  Were the Weepies last year or this year?  I sort of rediscovered the Mountain Goats.

28. What did you want and get?  Lotsa love.

29. What did you want and not get?  Hm.  Nothing?

30. What was your favorite film of this year?  Milk, 500 Days of Summer, Once (well, it wasn’t “this year” but we saw it this year). Up In The Air was really good. Up, also.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?  We went to Hotei because Ebisu was still under construction (we’ve been since it re-opened and it’s AWESOME); I turned 24.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? I don’t know, not having RA?

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008? Fancier, more skirts and dresses than last year.  Heels, even.  Still though, solids, lots of solids.  Structure, cinched waist, cut and sew.  I have a lot more to say about this than last year.

34. What kept you sane?  Husband.  Oddly, working.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?  Kevin McHale (aka Artie of Glee)!  Robert Downey Jr, duh.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?  I didn’t have much room in my brain for political issues.

37. Who did you miss?  Absolutely everyone.  Mom.

38. Who was the best new person you met?  Lots of girls at work.  Well, most of them I actually met last year but got to know this year.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009: I really don’t know. I’m probably in the middle of learning some lessons.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

Helping the kids out of their coats
But wait, the babies haven’t been born
Unpacking the bags and setting up
Planting lilacs and buttercups, oh

But in the meantime we’ve got it hard
Second floor living without a yard
It may be years until the day
My dreams will match up with my pay

I got a man to stick it out
And make a home from rented house, oh
We’ll collect the moments one by one
I guess that’s how the future’s done, oh

How many acres, how much light
Tucked in the woods and out of sight
Talk to the neighbors and tip my cap
On a little road barely on the map

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Judi K said, on January 6, 2010 at 6:31 am

    Hey there! Happy New Year!! Just want you to know I’ve got you covered here in Austin with prayer for that darn RA…dang it! Hope you have a great year my sweet friend and I’ll see you in Texas soon! Love to John, too!!! Judi

  2. Anne said, on January 12, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Totally love all of this! Especially the feist lyric which I don’t think I’ve ever really paid attention to before… Miss you… Love you!


Leave a Reply

