[full of it]

Misguided War on Fat

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on March 30, 2010

EVERYONE should read this article. It’s is a very heavily research-supported article talking about how our war on dietary fat needs to end. We’ve been touting this “high carb, low fat” diet as ideal for a very long time, and we’re having just as much heart disease and we’re not any thinner. Turns out, ingesting high amounts of saturated fat don’t cause heart disease. But guess what does! A high glycemic load! When we eat less fat, we replace it with lots and lots of carbohydrates, and that actually DOES have a negative impact on our hearts.

End the War on Fat

It’s more than mildly frustrating that, according to the article, the “powers that be” in the dietary guideline world are fully aware of this research, and still may not recommend any changes. For what, the sake of simplicity? Come on, I think we’re smarter than that (most of us, anyway).

I, for a variety of reasons that I will expand on later, have stopped eating gluten, which cuts out just about all of my grains. Gluten is in wheat, barley, and rye, so that means no bread, no pasta, almost nothing boxed or processed. There are still plenty of grains that are gluten-free, like buckwheat, quinoa, corn, and rice, but even those I don’t eat very often. I haven’t been quite as serious about it as people with celiac need to be; for example, I’ve eaten a few sauces at restaurants not knowing what they’d been thickened with, I’ve used the butter with bread crumbs, I’ve used soy sauce (which has wheat in it…who knew?). It really hasn’t been quite as difficult as you’d think.

Whoa, it’s 11:00, I need to shower and get ready for work. More later! Stop eating so much bread! Don’t be afraid of fat!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel Austin (aka Posey) said, on March 31, 2010 at 11:00 am

    You totally inspire me. Loved the article and am really considering cutting out gluten. Miss you lady!

  2. anne said, on March 31, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Susie, Ryan’s mom has RA (and I think celiac too) and she has told me that cutting out the gluten helps so much with RA symptoms. Is that why you decided to do it? Let me know if you need a few good recipes, i’m sure she has them! Love you! AB


Leave a Reply

