[full of it]

Here!

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on November 8, 2010

I owe y’all an update.  So neglectful.

Well, I’m term.  37 weeks and 3 days.  Everything is almost ready.  Every time I say we have everything we need, something else comes up.  Today it was more towels and a couple of extension cords.  And fresh ginger and coconut milk.  I’m not in a desperate rush to get absolutely every little thing on the list though, even the things the midwives have specifically requested, because really – I’m not sure the baby gives much of a shit whether or not there’s coconut milk in the pantry.  I’m pretty sure babe is going to be born just fine whether or not I’m missing an ingredient in my smoothie.

I start seeing the midwives weekly now.  And hey, remember down there when I said my midwives don’t do cervical exams?  Turns out they do!  Surprise!  I thought I’d remembered them saying they don’t, but maybe they were talking about doing them minimally during labor…anyway, my whole thing with cervical checks pre-labor is that THEY DON’T MEAN ANYTHING.  80% effaced and 3 cm at 37 weeks?  Congratulations, that means nothing!  High, hard and closed at 40 weeks?  Means nothing!  Says nothing about when you’ll go into labor or how long it will be.  I feel like I hear so many women in late pregnancy getting either super excited or super bummed based on their “progress.”  Why the need to know?  My midwife explained why they do them, and I guess it makes some sense.  Enough that I’m not going to refuse them.  She mentioned that my cervical “status” has no bearing on timing or duration of labor, so as long as we all understand that then I’m willing to consent.  The reason she gave has to do with the magical 42 week cut-off date.  She and Deborah have found that if they do cervical exams, they have more babies at home because they can start cervical ripening techniques earlier.  The other reason is so that they have a baseline if your water breaks before you go into labor, because then they won’t do exams during labor until super late.

So, she did do a cervical exam, but haHA!  I’m not going to tell you about it!  Because it doesn’t mean anything!  Oooh, I’m mean.

For a while I’d been bragging (mostly to myself) that I haven’t really had any late-pregnancy symptoms besides a backache now and then and having to pee every four seconds.  And now for the last two nights I’ve woken up with awful heartburn.  How do people deal with this for months on end?  I’m a whiney baby after two nights of it.  Still, I haven’t had any swelling, no sciatica, very little pubic bone pain, no constipation (is that too much information?  I’ve found one gets much less modest about bodily functions after getting pregnant).  I do feel gigantic – I wish I could clip my toenails without contorting, I have to psych myself up to stand up from the couch, getting in and out of the car is a comical experience, my maternity shirts don’t even cover my belly anymore.  But I’d say, all in all, I’m doing alright.

Baby is in not the best, but a pretty good position.  The back is on against my front on the right side, legs poking out to the left, head is facing backwards.  Right occiput anterior, to get technical on you.  The best position is LOA, same thing but with the baby on the left side.  I have no idea why the left side is better.  I’ve read through http://www.spinningbabies.com and it doesn’t make sense to me.  I’m symmetrical, right?  If you can explain to me why the left side is better, other than that fewer babies who start out LOA go posterior, I’ll send you a dollar.  No I won’t.  But I will appreciate it.  Also, it feels like the baby is in the right position.  How’s that for hippie shit?  But both times the baby was posterior, it didn’t feel right.  I felt like I needed to fix it.  This feels like it’s going to work for us.

Other than that, it’s the waiting game for us.  November 21 is a full moon.  Just throwing that out there.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel Austin said, on November 9, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Let’s go baby Yarbs aka Sam Fran! We’re ready to meet you!

    Here’s hoping for a full moon baby!


Leave a Reply

