[full of it]

The Stinky Girl

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on November 16, 2010

My hygiene habits have seriously changed over the last couple of years.  It started with no ‘poo, when I stopped using shampoo in favor of baking soda.  Then the oil cleansing method, ditching facial cleanser for castor and grapeseed oil.  Shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion, facial cleanser, facial toner, facial lotion, deodorant, antiperspirant  – mon dieu, is it all really necessary?  Do I need to cover myself in suds every morning if I didn’t even break a sweat the day before?  Is my skin so dry and flaky because I overwash it?

So now, on top of the hippie hair and face methods, I’ve stopped washing my entire body.  I shower everyday, more for the ritual and to get my hair wet, but I only actually wash the important parts and let water do the rest.  I just bought some traditional soap (lard and lye), so we’ll see how that goes when I run out of my current body wash.  But after just a few days of not scrubbing my arms and legs with a loofah, I don’t need lotion anymore.  If the shower is too hot I get a little itchy, but I’ve been out of lotion for a couple weeks and just use a little Weleda body oil or some melted coconut oil and I’m fine.  My back, which has been broken out like a teenager’s since getting pregnant, is clearing up.  Since I’m only wetting my hair and basically just washing my feet and armpits, my showers are barely five minutes long, and since I don’t have to slather myself in lotion, my “getting ready” time has been significantly cut down.  I use a deodorant, not an antiperspirant – Kiss My Face Active Enzyme.  Tom’s and the like do me no favors – I end up smelly the second I get a little hot.  But this stuff truly, truly keeps you from stinking.  I don’t know if it would hold up to August in Houston, but out here it does just fine.

I haven’t had any complaints from my husband, but seriously guys – if I’ve gone too far and you hold your breath when you hug me – please let me know.  And I promise to let you know when you have pepper in your teeth or your fly is down.

 

Leave a Reply

