[full of it]

What I heard

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on December 27, 2010

I don’t think I mentioned that I listened to quite a bit of music while I was in labor.  I’d made a “baby” playlist the week before, full of songs with a certain mood.  I remember being in the tub once labor had really started, and being able to sort of melt into the songs between contractions was really helpful.  Every time a new song started I got a new wave of the feel-goods.  I thought I’d share some of what I listened to.  There’s a lot of Will Johnson (Centro-matic, South San Gabriel, Molina and Johnson).  I can’t understand a word the man says (and I think he makes a bunch of words up), but I can really sink into his tunes.  A few years ago I saw him play a solo in-store in Austin and he signed a poster for me.  I don’t know where the poster is now.  He has a rockin’ beard.  Anyway, thanks for helping me birth my child, Will.

Christmas Morning – Lyle Lovett
Georgia on My Mind – Willie Nelson (I do love Ray Charles, but no one can beat Willie at anything, ever)
The Luckiest – Ben Folds (John surprised me by playing this at our wedding as the last song of the night)
It’s a Motherfucker – The Eels (Sweeter than it sounds)
The Dark of Garage – South San Gabriel
In Such Crooked Times – Centromatic
White Daisy Passing – Rocky Votolato
Please Speak Well of Me – The Weepies
Do You Know How Much You’ve Been Loved? – John Davis (of Superdrag)
Affection’s the Pay – South San Gabriel
This Rookie Runs – South San Gabriel
Bears – Lyle Lovett (I call John Johnbear or JB. “just don’t come no better than a bear”)
I Hear Your Voice – John Davis
I See Through You – Centromatic
Twenty Cycles to the Ground – Molina and Johnson
Kept it on the Sly – South San Gabriel
At My Most Beautiful – REM
I Feel Too Young to Die – South San Gabriel
Asleep – The Smiths
All My Mistakes – The Avett Brothers
They’re in Love, Where Am I? – The Weepies
Magdalene – Guy Clark
Blue and Wonder – Richard Buckner
Don’t You Think I Feel it Too – Lyle Lovett
You Remind Me of Home – Ben Gibbard
Sweeter Than Me – Aaron Sprinkle
Pines – Karate
Even Though – Norah Jones
Carolina – Ben Gibbard
Chasing Pirates – Norah Jones
I’ll Catch You – The Get Up Kids
In My Own Mind – Lyle Lovett
First Day of my Life – Bright Eyes
Out of Reach – The Get Up Kids
South Texas Girl – Lyle Lovett and His Large Band
Nobody Knows Me At All – The Weepies
I and Love and You – The Avett Brothers
Don’t Cry a Tear – Lyle Lovett and His Large Band
Home – Michael Buble
Dream River – The Mavericks

Leave a Reply

