[full of it]

Day 1

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on July 25, 2011

Whole60 starts today.  I went to the store, got all stocked up, and it seemed dumb to arbitrarily put it off to the first of the month.  So – Day 1 it is.

I went to Whole Foods and spent way more money than I usually do, because I’m so terrified of looking in the cabinets/fridge and thinking Ugh, nothing to eat.  That is no longer an excuse, and shouldn’t be all week.

Here are my food options:

Breakfast
-any combination of eggs, spinach, mushrooms, zucchini, broccoli, bacon and breakfast sausage (bah, yes, the breakfast sausage has sugar – but very little, and it isn’t corn syrup, and…come on.  It’s the only thing, I swear).  So this could mean sausage, spinach, mushroom scramble; zucchini and mushroom omelet; broccoli and bacon frittata; sautéed sausage, spinach, mushrooms…you get the idea.
-berries (I got blackberries and blueberries – always organic with the berries, guys – they soak up pesticides like delicious juicy sponges)
-banana and almond butter

Lunch
-Any leftover dinner meat on a salad (romaine hearts, because I’ll be honest – I don’t much like salad greens…I’m far more likely to eat crunchy lettuce, so romaine it is)
-More realistically, I’ll graze through the day on snacks and dinner leftovers if I have them
-Or I’ll quickly sauté  any meat/veggies that need to be cooked

Dinner
Rather than planning whole meals, I plan proteins and they get paired with whatever vegetable I feel like making.  So, for proteins:
-Grass fed flat iron steak (I bought 3 steaks, one for us to split for next day’s lunch) with chimichurri
-Shrimp – I have a big bag frozen, so they can be blackened, cajun-seasoned, curried…whatever.
-Lots of chicken – Rosemary chicken, or cut up and sautéed with a vegetable, or blackened…whatever.
-Cod with chorizo/almond crust
And vegetables:
-Zucchini, which I usually just sauté with salt and pepper
-Broccoli, frozen – I’ll steam it, then drench it in olive oil and salt
-Sweet potato, which I love as “fries” – baked in thin strips with Tony’s and cayenne
-Green beans, frozen – also steamed then drenched in oil
-Salad

Snacks/Lunch
-Fruit – berries, mango, banana, peaches
-Carrots and almond butter
-Cucumber and guacamole
-Frozen watermelon chunks
Kale chips (seriously – if you think you don’t like kale, make it like this.  NO ONE doesn’t like it.  This is also just the first recipe I clicked on…I don’t turn them because it hasn’t ever seemed to make a difference.  Just watch them, pull one out and do a crunch test.)
-Smoked salmon

This whole primal thing goes a little bit beyond eating just meat and vegetables; it’s about eating clean meat and vegetables.  Cows, chickens, pigs – they shouldn’t be eating grain either.  And when they are fed grain, they get sick just like we do.  Their meat has more omega-6 and fewer omega-3 fats.  So wherever it’s possible (and it’s easy at a place like Whole Foods), the meat I buy is grass fed or pastured (look for 100% grass-fed…some meats labeled “grass-fed” are only “grass-finished” or a small percentage of the animal’s diet was grass).  It is more expensive, but some of that cost is off-set by not buying boxed or processed foods.  And with produce, I buy organic where it matters and local when it’s possible.  I don’t do organic avocados, melons, or bananas, but always organic apples, peaches, berries (stuff with skin that I eat).

I’m looking into joining a CSA (like this one) again.  We did one of those farm delivery things in SF, but stopped after about a month because we let stuff go bad.  Now, since our diet is much more produce-based and I have the time and energy to devote to figuring out how to prepare the weird surprise things you get, I think it’s worth another try.  It forces you to branch out, and my trips to the grocery store can be super quick – just supporting ingredients and protein.  Once Felix is a little older, I LOVE the idea of letting him visit the farm where his food comes from.  Supporting local farmers, eating local, seasonal food…what’s not to love?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ADB said, on July 25, 2011 at 10:52 am

    I absolutely LOVE this!

  2. mary said, on August 1, 2011 at 8:00 am

    you make this sound awesome and completely do able….thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

