[full of it]

2011 Survey

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on December 27, 2011

2010, 2009, 2008, and 2007

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before? Bought a house!  Started doing the paleo thing.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Yeah, I’m not really into the whole resolution thing.  Although I am doing a Whole30 starting Jan 1.  

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes!  Anne had sweet baby Ellen this summer!

4. Did anyone close to you die? No, no one close to me.

5. What countries did you visit? Texas.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?  An uninterrupted night of sleep. 

7. What date(s) from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?  I’ll be honest – this year was a bit of a blur.  

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?  Keeping a very high-needs baby alive.  Keeping myself alive and mostly sane.  

9. What was your biggest failure? I don’t think I’ve done much failing this year, and it’s hard to anyway when you’ve got someone keeping your eyes open and your heart warm.  [now I’ve got two]

10. Did you suffer any illness or injury?  Just one illness all year, a nasty 24-hour stomach thing that we all caught.  John was out of town.  I puked in a blanket while nursing the baby.  Not my finest hour.

11. What was the best thing you bought?  A house!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?  Mine!  Yours!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?  You know, I really didn’t have much energy to be concerned with goings-on outside of my immediate household, and no one in my household gave me reason to be appalled or depressed.  Oh wait, Jerry Sandusky.  Fucking ass hat.

14. Where did most of your money go?  House.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?  House!  Felix turning one!  Everything!

16. What song will always remind you of 2011?  Probably “Your Smiling Face” James Taylor.  I listened to it a lot, by choice and also because it comes on XM about every five seconds.  Or probably anything by Adele.    

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? I just keep getting happier, don’t I.
ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner, much thinner.  Lost pregnancy weight and then some.  Paleo FTW!
iii.  richer or poorer? Poorer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?  Sleeping.  Obvi.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?  Oh, wasting energy stressing about things I can’t change.  Feeling jealous of parents with easy babies.  I poured out a lot of negativity there for a few months.  

20. How did you spend Christmas?  Xmas eve with my mom and sibs, Xmas morning with my dad and sibs, Xmas afternoon with John’s fam.  Xmas extravaganza!!!  Opened lots of presents, ate lots of sugar.

22. Did you fall in love in 2011?  Oh my, yes.

23. How many one-night stands?  All of them.

24. What was your favorite TV program?  You know what?  I’ll just say it.  New Girl.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?  Nah.  Who has the time.  Oh wait, Jerry Sandusky.  Fucktard.

26. What was the best book you read?  I got very lost in the entire Sherlock Holmes series.  And for the record – I read The Hunger Games series and it sucked.  What is wrong with everyone?  Or is it me?  No, definitely everyone else.  It’s horrible.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?  Gosh.  My music library really hasn’t expanded much.  Or at all.  Er…  

28. What did you want and get?  A sweet-faced baby.  Lotsa love, coming at me from everywhere.  A house!  

29. What did you want and not get?  Sleep.  [are you sensing a theme?]

30. What was your favorite film of this year?  We snuck away to see the final Harry Potter at Alamo Drafthouse on our anniversary…not sure if it was the best movie of the year, but it was the best movie-watching experience.  

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?  I turned 26.  Why can I never remember what happened on my birthday?!

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?  Uninterrupted sleep.  (Okay, at this point I feel like I should point out that I’m not a walking zombie and I get plenty of sleep and rest; my need for more sleep is not so much about sleep itself as it is me-time, knowing that I have several hours of being off-duty, being able to put Felix to sleep and not needing to immediately follow and perhaps being able to do something (gasp!) selfish without rushing because I might be interrupted at any moment.  Like paint my toenails.  Or take a bath.)

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?  I get dressed in the morning with the understanding that what I’m wearing will absolutely at some point get smeared with food or body fluid.  And I also need to be able to nurse.  So – jeans, TOMS, and cheap drape-y V-neck t-shirts.

34. What kept you sane?  Well, for the sake of answering the question we’ll assume that I did, in fact, stay sane (I sometimes wonder).  My husband and my mother.  The Fussy Baby Book by Dr Sears.  My sweet-faced babe.  The mothering.com message boards.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?  Matt Damon, always.  Smart and suave.  Do I lose points to say Zooey Deschanel?  Is it not cool anymore to like her?  Come on though, if you say you don’t like her you’re only doing it to be contrary, and that is just the same as liking her because everyone else does.  She’s adorable.  

36. What political issue stirred you the most?  I didn’t get stirred so much.  No energy, no time.  Oh wait, Jerry Sandusky.  Shit eater.

37. Who did you miss?  My husband.  Gone all damn day!  Why do we even need jobs and money, anyway?  

38. Who was the best new person you met?  Mel!  

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010:  It’s not all on me.  

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

If you can’t sleep
I’ll be there in your dreams
I’ll be there in your dreams
If you can’t sleep at all

And in your dreams
I’ll touch your cheek
And lay my head on your shoulder

Goodbye shadows
Goodbye shadows

You’re far away
If you can’t see my face
If the world is cold
But the sun shines the same

Shut your eyes
There are bluer skies
for your embrace to my heart

Goodbye shadows
Goodbye shadows

If you can’t sleep
I’ll be there in your dreams
I’ll be there in your dreams
If you can’t sleep at all

And in your dreams
I’ll touch your cheek
And lay my head on your shoulder

 

 


Leave a Reply

