[full of it]

The year of Felix

Posted in Uncategorized by susieyarbs on December 22, 2010

2009, 2008, and 2007

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before? Oh, so many things.  Got pregnant, then all the firsts that go along with that.  Like pushing a baby out of my vagina, most notably.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I guess I don’t do the resolution thing.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?  ME! Me me!  And I did it well, by the way.  And next year he’ll have a new baby cousin!

4. Did anyone close to you die? No, no one close to me.

5. What countries did you visit? None.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?  No thank you, I’m good.

7. What date(s) from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?  November 30.  For obvious reasons, I think.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?  Having a baby, doing it my way.

9. What was your biggest failure? I don’t think I’ve done much failing this year, and it’s hard to anyway when you’ve got someone keeping your eyes open and your heart warm.

10. Did you suffer any illness or injury?  Just a stomach virus earlier in the year.  And lots of morning sickness.  Being pregnant threw my RA into remission, so all in all my health was much better than usual.

11. What was the best thing you bought?  New phones, maybe?  Lots of real cute baby stuff.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?  Mine!  Yours!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?  Oh, why would I waste time being appalled and depressed?

14. Where did most of your money go? Rent, always rent.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? EVERYTHING.  The obvious, you know – everything from the positive pregnancy test (which is still in a drawer…I know it’s gross, but how do you throw it away?) to the first time I saw his lil face.  The constant – having THE best husband of all time, being part of the most loving family.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?  Probably that Cee Lo Green song, “Fuck You.”  Not because it’s personally significant or anything, it’s just everywhere.  And so catchy!

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? I just keep getting happier, don’t I.
ii. thinner or fatter? Oh, fatter.  I’ve lost about 25 of the 40-ish pregnancy pounds.
iii. richer or poorer? Poorer!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?  Seeing family, always more family.  Sleeping.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?  Nothing.  I wish I’d done less nothing.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?  On the actual day, I’ll be hanging with John and Felix.  We may watch some movies, take a walk, who knows.  Then some familia comes in, and that’s when presents will happen.

22. Did you fall in love in 2010?  Oh yes.

23. How many one-night stands?  One million.

24. What was your favorite TV program?  Parks and Rec.  No wait, Veronica Mars.  Yeah.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?  Nah.  Who has the time.

26. What was the best book you read?  Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth.  The best.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?  You know, I don’t think I just fell in love with anyone new this year.  So sad.

28. What did you want and get?  A sweet-faced baby.  Lotsa love, coming at me from everywhere.

29. What did you want and not get?  Yeah right!

30. What was your favorite film of this year?  I have a feeling it would be True Grit…you know, if I were to have seen that this year.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?  We definitely went to dinner…Bambino’s, if I’m not mistaken.  I turned 25.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?  No morning sickness.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?  My fashion was pregnant.  I broke my cardinal style rule: leggings are not pants.  Leggings are the only pants when you are pregnant.  I’m dying to get back into my old clothes.  Not because I have any problem with my post partum bod (I still look good, thanksverymuch), I’m just sick of wearing the same pair of worn out maternity jeans.

34. What kept you sane?  My sanity is just now coming into question with newborn sleep deprivation.  So, naps.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?  Jeff Bridges.  The cop boyfriend in Veronica Mars.  It’s more an auditory infatuation than anything else.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?  I didn’t get stirred so much.  Oh wait, I got real excited when Prop 8 was overturned for five minutes.  Then sad again.

37. Who did you miss? Absolutely everyone. Mom.

38. Who was the best new person you met?  Lil Booboo.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010:  I can do literally anything.  And you do get a gold star.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

The first time ever I saw your face
I thought the sun rose in your eyes
And the moon and stars were the gifts you gave
To the dark and the empty skies, my love
To the dark and the empty skies

The first time ever I saw your face
Your face, your face, your face

Leave a comment